Place Names of County Down

Within the published place name series, four volumes cover "the Kingdom of Mourne", County Down.

Each volume examines the cultural and linguistic history of the region and meticulously documents the rich heritage of the county, offering invaluable insights into the landscape and serve as indispensable guides to understanding the significance of place names in shaping County Down's identity.

County Volume Series Volume Authors/Editors Areas Covered
County Down I 1 Gregory Toner and Mícheál B. Ó Mainnín Newry and South-West Down, covering: the parish of Newry; Barony of Upper Iveagh – parishes of Clonallan, Donaghmore, Drumgath, Kilbroney, Warrenpoint
County Down II 2 J. Hughes and R. J. Hannan The Ards, covering: Barony of Upper Ards – parishes of Ardkeen, Ardquin, Ballyphilip, Ballytrustan, Ballywalter, Castleboy, Inishargy, St. Andrew’s and Ballyhalbert, Slanes, Witter; Barony of Lower Ards – parishes of Bangor, Donaghadee, Grey Abbey, Newtownards
County Down III 3 Mícheál B. Ó Mainnín The Mournes, covering: Barony of Mourne – parish of Kilkeel; Barony of Upper Iveagh (Lower Half) – parishes of Clonduff, Kilcoo
County Down IV 6 Kay Muhr North-West Down/Iveagh, covering: Barony of Iveagh – parishes of Aghaderg, Annaclone, Donaghcloney, Dromore, Drumballyroney, Garvaghy, Magheralin, Magherally, Moira, Seapatrick, Tullylish

Place Names of Northern Ireland, Volume 6 (County Down IV)