The Ulster Plantation

In the early seventeenth century Ulster, the northern province of Ireland, witnessed huge changes as a result of various waves of settlement and schemes of plantation.

From 1606 onwards, many migrants came to the settlements in north-east County Down established by two Ayrshire Scots, Sir James Hamilton and Sir Hugh Montgomery. Others settled in County Antrim on the lands of the MacDonnells and others such as Sir Arthur Chichester, Hugh Clotworthy and Fulke Conway.

The most far-reaching of the schemes was the Plantation of Ulster. Over two years in planning, the Plantation came to embrace six counties in Ulster – Armagh, Cavan, Coleraine (renamed Londonderry in 1613), Donegal, Fermanagh and Tyrone (collectively known as the escheated counties).

This section of our website contains information, resources and links that will help you understand more about the Ulster Plantation.

Image: Benburb Castle and Bawn

Benburb castle and bawn reduced